100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day 33

with 2 comments


I’m not good when I’m hungry.  Or tired.  And right now I’m hungry and tired.  And unless you’ve been living under a rock you know why: today is the Fast of Esther, a sunup to sundown fast held right before Purim to commemorate either the Jews fasting before going to war with the Persians, or Queen Esther fasting before going to talk to her husband, king Ahasueros, thus instilling in the Jewish people a heritage of eating disorders that persists until this day.  It’s considered a “minor” fast day, that is, from sunup to sundown, which means you can have an early breakfast and a late dinner which would mean that technically you’d only be missing lunch, afternoon coffee and 12 snacks.   Today the fast began at 5:49 am, which meant I set the alarm for 5:20 so my wife and I could have a large breakfast and coffee. Somehow the setting alarm responsibility is seen by me to be the “man’s job” and one I take very seriously.  I like being responsible in some way for feeding my family.  And since I’m not working, setting the alarm to wake up to have a large pre-fast meal is the easiest way I know how to show my competence as a provider.

At 5:47 a.m. I woke up with a start:  “SHAWNI GET UP THE ALARM DIDN’T GO OFF WE HAVE TWO MINUTES TO EAT!!!”  We ran downstairs faster than either of us have ever moved, each guzzled a cup of coffee which was made (setting the coffee pot to go off for some reason is my wife’s responsibility), my wife shoveled down three spoonfuls of Life cereal and I ate a bite of sweet potato.  She then stared at me as if to say, “Why didn’t the alarm go off?”  In case the stare didn’t get the message across, she then said, “Why didn’t the alarm go off?”  “It’s irregular?”  I offered weakly.

While always annoying, I think the point of these periodic fasts is to force you to become more spiritual, to make you rely less on your body and appreciate that there’s much more to life than just consumption.  It also allows greater communication with your spouse as in, “Shawni, only 2 and a half hours left!”  and “Shawni, only 2 hours and 19 minutes left!”  And now, as the fast enters its final moments, I actually feel pretty good: I feel light, my clothes fit better, my mind is clear, I’m awash with a real sense of accomplishment.  Dare I say more spiritual?  I do dare, “I feel more spiritual.” Maybe I don’t need to eat as much or have two cups of coffee after lunch to get through  the afternoon no matter.  Anyway, I’m going to try to take this feeling with me now as I have a cup of juice to break the fast.  It’s 7:49 and I feel great.

It’s now 8:07.  I just ate an entire roast chicken and washed it down with a litre of Coke Zero.  I think I’m going to throw up.  I will try to write more later.

Written by 100daysoff

March 17, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well at elast it wasn’t four big macs resulting in the decison to become a vegatarian.

    Michael Lebit

    March 17, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  2. hahahahaha

    David Kopp

    March 17, 2011 at 11:09 pm


Leave a Reply

