100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day 14

with one comment


This will be a quick post because I am about to leave for an overnight with my wife to an undisclosed local hotel for a night of noneofyourbusiness (ie: we’ll probably watch Tron and go to sleep).  In any event, today was a day of rest.  It was FREEZING in LA– probably got down into the mid-50’s so I got to wear my winter coat.  Tonight the kids will be staying with their very first nanny and her children.  Our nanny, I’ll call her Sandra because that’s her name, was wonderful with the kids as babies but then seemingly became resentful after seven years that we were having her do stuff like clean up– the kids were at school so there wasn’t so much nannying to do.  My wife and I are both terrible at confronting people, so we lived in passive-aggressive hell for the last year of that relationship.  The breaking point should have come when our nanny announced one day that she was “working from home” which seemed impossible since her job was to straighten out her house.  Our response, predictably was, “oh, okay”.  Anyway, she’s amazing with kids and has since gone on to work for two peers of mine who now pay her more money than I make so I’m very happy for her.  I also think she has a pilot going for the CW but I can’t be sure.  Anyway, the point is, that my wife, who admittedly is not a gift-giver and is married to someone who loves giving and getting gifts, got me the perfect gift which is an overnight where the kids won’t (please God!) call us to come home.   As a side note, since the Oscars are in town this weekend, all of the nicer “local” hotels are booked up, so I believe we’re going to Utah.  No booze, just tron and a salt scrub from a hearty Mormon.  Ahhhhhh…. that’s a nice gift.

More tomorrow.

Written by 100daysoff

February 27, 2011 at 2:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Success! What a fun “spa getaway”.

    Shawni

    February 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm


Leave a Reply

