100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day 8

leave a comment »


It’s 9:30 on Sunday night, my wife and I are struggling to stay awake while the kids and their friends are running around the hotel with snow cones.  This must be what Egypt was like.

Spent the day in different classes meeting different people learning different things, but one thing has become clear: I can no longer tell how old people are.  The day started with me yelling at a 7 year old who was riding the escalator in a dangerous way.   He told me I probably did the same thing when I was his age.  He must have known I didn’t come from a high pedigree and was currently unemployed.  I told him I was way more responsible when I was 7.  He told me he was 11.  I muttered something about disrespect and left.

Shawni and I are getting ready to go out to a comedy show– at 10:30!  Who the hell goes out at 10:30?  Anyway, I just met our babysitter who is either gorgeous and 27 or cute and 15.  Either way, I shouldn’t be talking about her.

That’s pretty much all for today.  I’ve given myself weekends off for trying to achieve anything significant in the way of work– much as I did when I was at work.  The weekend is mine to give my kids things to talk to their therapists about when they’re older (they’re either 7 and 9, or 19 and 21).  The only other thing I did take on was the 100 Day Burpee Challenge, which was given to me by my sadistic trainer.  Basically, the idea is to do the number of Burpees corresponding to the day of the challenge culminating in doing 100 Burpees on day 100.   A burpee is the following according to Wikipedia which is never wrong (per Wikipedia’s definition of itself):

The burpee is a full body exercise used in strength training and as aerobic exercise. It is performed in five steps:

  1. Begin in a standing position.
  2. Drop into a squat position with your hands on the ground.
  3. Kick your feet back while lowering yourself without a pushup.
  4. Return your feet to the squat position while straightening your arms.
  5. Leap up as high as possible from the squat position with your arms overhead (you may not clap your hands above your head at the peak of your jump).

Not sure why I took on this particular challenge except that it had the word 100 in it.  Starting tomorrow I hit the ground running, break a new idea for a pilot, put up shelves for the garage and get back on the diet.  Either that or go to Legoland with the kids.  Either way I’ve got nine freaking burpees to do.

 

Written by 100daysoff

February 21, 2011 at 5:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

