100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day 7

leave a comment »


Day 7’s will typically be slow days for me as they are days off.  My family and I keep Shabbat so we spend our Saturdays without phones or computers or tvs, hanging out with friends and family eating things that kept my ancestors’ life expectancy at around 48 years old.

We’re spending this particular weekend in Orange County, Costa Mesa I think.  I’m never super comfortable outside major cities, and Costa Mesa is not a major city.  I believe Legoland is the closest major city.   In any event, we’re at something called LimmudLA which is a gathering of Jews of all shapes and sizes– let’s face it: both shapes and sizes– where we can hang out, listen to lectures and hope that the kids who just caused the hotel to shut down its escalators are not ours.

In truth, I like this event because there’s something liberating for kids in a hotel.  Hearing my daughter laugh out loud and run around with a new friend is worth almost any price.  Finding out that it was my son who caused the hotel escalators to shut down is a bummer.  But he’s so cute it doesn’t matter.

I spent the last two hours at the bar talking to a guy from Chicago who spent his year after college as a tank commander in the Israeli army.  The year after college I lived in a windowless apartment above a bar in Chicago where I was once awoken by my own urine hitting me in the face.  Anyway, this guy was very interested in the fact that I’m a sitcom writer.  He’s been under fire in Lebanon and he wondered how I dealt with the pressure of coming up with a new story every week.  FINALLY, someone understands how hard my job is.

Anyway, I sometimes take for granted that I have a really cool job, which I’m very grateful for and hope to have again in 93 days or less.  Still reliving my encounter with my Crazy Ex– on Friday.  While it would make an interesting twist if she went after my wife with a barbell in the gym– my wife whom she once accused of having her babies with me, by the way (cue Psycho music)– I’m hoping those two ships never pass.  I’m fairly certain I haven’t heard the end of her, though.

That’s all for tonight.  I hear my daughter laughing in the other room and I don’t want to miss that.  Oops, never mind, that’s her screaming at my son.  I still shouldn’t miss it though.

Written by 100daysoff

February 20, 2011 at 7:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

