100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day Five

with 5 comments


Five days in, a few things are becoming clear to me: first, having to document my day definitely puts pressure on what I do during my day.  Not that anyone really gives a crap about whether or not I will clean my garage (I won’t) or whether I’ll get into shape (I lost 4 pounds– which isn’t that difficult since according to my fancy scale which I got last time I tried to get into shape, I need to have the caloric intake of a speedskater to maintain my current weight), but I should really care about how I spend my days.  A week from today I will find myself smack at the halfway point between 40 and 50– if I’m not in the second half yet, I’m certainly entering the last quarter of the really good part of life (I know, grandkids are supposed to be fantastic, but I’m talking about having to get up only once a night to pee.)  In any case, there’s something good about taking stock of what you did at the end of every day.  If today was one of the last 100 days of my life, is this how I would have spent it?  No, of course not, that’s a dumb question.  But it’s something to think about.

Another thing I’m realizing is that there’s really no reason for me to be late for anything since I’m making my own schedule which features huge gaps of time between dropping the kids off at school, hiking the dogs, lunch and dinner.  Yet, so far I have been late to every one of those things.  I’ve tried to tackle the punctuality thing before and I’ve narrowed it down either to genetics (I literally had a great aunt who was late to her own funeral– they shipped the wrong body up from Florida.  Not her fault, but not a bad cliche to go out on), or more likely, my need to feel anxiety.  It’s the solution in the petrie dish in which I live.  Being late gives me just enough stress to keep that familiar feeling– kind of like those bacteria that live in undersea volcanic plumes.  I’ve only been on-time twice in my life– once was a challenge from my boss at Montgomery Ward’s to get in before he did (I got in early to quit), and the other time was a challenge by my shrink who told me I would not be ready to “graduate” until I started getting there on time.  The next week I got there early and I quit.  Maybe getting there early represents quitting to me .  In any case, I’m going to try to be on time (as I write my post at 10:30 at night when I was supposed to get it in by 5:00).

In any event, the thing I did do today that I would do if it was one of the last days of my life was take my kids to a tennis lesson after school.  As I hung out with the other moms sharing recipes and talking about how hard it is to feed our kids, I got to see my son and daughter play the only sport I was ever really good at as a kid (and by good, of course I mean “Jewish good”  And by “Jewish good”, I mean “Jewish average” which is good for my not-so-coordinated family). When I first had kids I decided that I would give them tennis rackets as soon as they could walk, but sets of 100 days flew by until 7 and 9 years later, my kids are just starting to take tennis.  And with a lot of hard work, they too will be “Jewish average.”  But I feel lucky that I get to watch them get there.

Other things that happened today were another grueling training session which I crawled out of like FDR getting out of a bath tub (thank God I got there 10 minutes late or I literally think I would have died), lunch with a good friend, and getting dressed up to hear another good friend speak at an AIPAC dinner in front of 1500 people.  You know what?  Maybe this is how I’d spend one of my last days.

Shoot, I was supposed to meet my wife a half hour ago.  More tomorrow.

Jewish Average

Written by 100daysoff

February 18, 2011 at 6:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great photo! “Jewish-average” killed me.

    David Kopp

    February 18, 2011 at 7:16 am

  2. Sounds like a REALLY good day!!!

    Pam Hurley

    February 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  3. In terms of cute, these kids are way beyond Jewish average if I do say so myself.

    Shawni

    February 18, 2011 at 5:53 pm

  4. I like this one. I’m a firm believer in “if you don’t like what’s going on in you life; change it” but mostly for other people. I’m not so great at putting it in to practice when I could just sit around and whine about it.

    Heidi

    February 18, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  5. I was lookinng forward to the adventerous day where you clean out your garage.

    Michael

    February 19, 2011 at 2:16 am


Leave a Reply

