100daysoff

Jeff Astrof has 100 days off. See how he spends them.

Day Two

with 7 comments


I remember having a conversation with my wife– who is a stay at home mom– that included me uttering the phrase, “Well, then what did you do?”  Like catching yourself in your fly, it’s the type of thing a man does once and only once in his adult life.   The truth is, I am much better as a person and much more efficient when I have set things to do.  Giving myself the task of documenting what I’m doing has put added pressure on me to make what I’m doing worthy of writing down.  I remember a character– I think in a Joseph Heller book, maybe “Catch 22”– who was a President who spent his entire Presidency writing his memoirs which meant the memoirs were about writing a memoir.  That, of course, is my fear: that my writing about what I’m doing will be the only thing that I’m actually doing.

With that as motivation, I set out to have a very productive day.  (Why I should need motivation to lead a meaningful day in my life is part of a bigger discussion and probably represents some serious spiritual deficiency on my part.)   Anyway, my calendar was full– with one event (I haven’t quite figured out how to program my iphone to not repeat events): lunch with my agent.  (I will try to stop using parentheticals after this one).    I figured preparing to meet with my agent would take up the morning, lunch would kill two hours, and then taking action on his advice would take up the rest of the afternoon until it was time to write about all the funny things my agent said.

Then, of course, life happened.  Got a call from my agent at 9:30 that lunch would have to be postponed: my Junior Agent had not reported back from a bachelor party– er, was busy networking for me– and would thus not be able to attend.  That means that my day, which was supposed to be focused on focusing on business would have to be taken up with the seemingly less-important things I also needed to do: clean the garage, hike the dogs, get into shape.  Unfortunately, the morning dog hike which I got to spend with my wife turned into a driving tour of the places that each of us used to live before we met our true loves (each other, I assume) which led into lunch with an old friend which turned into coffee with an old friend which brought me back home in time to write about my extremely productive day:  “Well, then what did I do?”

It was nice spending time with my wife, of course– it always is, really, I’m lucky that way– and it took my mind away from business, which was how I was supposed to spend my day.

And then I came home.  On my front step was a giant envelope from my lawyer.  (Quick: name your three favorite giant envelopes you’ve gotten from your lawyer!)  Inside this giant envelope, mocking me, was the reason why I have time off: it was four unsigned contracts for the “Untiled Jeff Astrof Project”– the pilot I had been working on all year.  The one that everyone loved– except the top guy who reminded everyone who loved it why what they really meant was they hated it.  It was like getting a wedding album in the mail the day after you get divorced.  “Oh, remember back then– how happy NBC and I were?  Look how cute I looked in my step-deal!”  Worse, I have to sign four copies of the dead contract, the cover sheet of which reads “You have told us that the project is not moving forward and NBC Universal Television has confirmed this.  Nevertheless, NBCU will not pay the… monies (is “monies” a word?)…. However because the project is not moving forward at this time…. I will then forward the signed agreements to NBC along with a letter reiterating that… the project is not going forward.  P.S.  Your agent skipped lunch with you because your project is not moving forward.”    The P.S. is subtext.

Anyway, that was Day 2– what started out as a day supposed to be about work ended up being a day about not working.  But along the way I had a nice walk with my wife.  Which is what I guess is what’s really important.

Goals for today: Lunch with agent — Postponed; Dogs hiked — Accomplished; Clean up Garage: Not even close.

Written by 100daysoff

February 15, 2011 at 12:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You think you’re accomplishing nothing? All I’ve done today is read some douchebags blog.

    Ira Ungerleider

    February 15, 2011 at 1:25 am

    • This KILLED me.

      David Kantor

      February 22, 2011 at 10:42 pm

  2. I have never been able to confirm that ‘monies’ is an actual word (spell check flags it) but it often finds its way into my legal documents. A long time ago some attorney used the word in a contract and no other attorney questioned its use for fear of appearing stupid. Ever since then this made up word has been regularly accepted by the legal profession. That’s my theory and I’m sticking to it.

    Don’t forget to post the before/after pictures of that super clean garage.

    Michael A Lebit

    February 15, 2011 at 2:46 am

  3. ooph. I can see Shawni’s face when you said “what DID you do.” I bet she made you watch Mr. Mom.

    davidbkopp

    February 15, 2011 at 4:06 am

  4. I would enjoy this more if the stakes were higher, you started your story sooner and the character was good at his job.

    Burditt

    February 15, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    • Wow, this is a left -turn: my blog was passed on when it was the studio’s favorite blog. I’ll have my agent slip it onto Les’s desk. I’m still in the mix.

      100daysoff

      February 15, 2011 at 3:15 pm

  5. Ok Jeff, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Day One & Two so now you’ve got me hooked! I am going to read your blog first thing in the morning, coffee in hand, everyday for the next 98 days, I feel extraordinarily wonderful and entertaining things brewing on the horizon… Much love to you and the Mrs!

    Pam Hurley

    February 15, 2011 at 4:56 pm


Leave a Reply

